1. Welcome to 4Runners.com!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all 4Runner discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other 4Runner owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

What do you do after accidentally engaging 4wd on dry pavement?

Discussion in '5th Gen 4Runners (2010-2024)' started by QuocDat, Mar 8, 2023.

1. Mar 8, 2023 at 11:59 PM
    QuocDat

QuocDat [OP] New Member

Member:
    4runner
    Hi everyone, i’m just learning about the mechanic things so I’m sorry if I border you by posting many threads for one topic.
    I was engaging 4wd on dry pavement and do some sharp turns like u-turn for 4 times, turn left and right at the intersection. I think I’m not the only who accidentally torture our beloved 4runner 5th gen. For those who make those mistakes, what should I do after that? And did you notice any thing went wrong after? My truck is still good but i’m afraid I have bent any metal part or broke them.
    I watch this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1EHcrjIlkHk&t=237s and this guy recommend some step to follow. Do you recommend that? Thank everyone.

2. Mar 9, 2023 at 6:00 AM
    scanny

scanny New Member

Member:
    Ontario, Canada
    I think you're fine if you did it just few times. I wouldn't worry about it but make sure you don't engage 4Hi on dry pavement on a regular basis.

3. Mar 9, 2023 at 6:51 AM
    CygnusX-4

CygnusX-4 Member

Member:
    Vehicle:
    21 TRD OR
    You must now treat your 4Runner to a therapeutic mud bath.

4. Mar 9, 2023 at 9:40 AM
    Captain Spalding

Captain Spalding . . .

Member:
    You have to turn around three times, spit over your shoulder, and recite a line from King Lear.