1. Welcome to 4Runners.com!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all 4Runner discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other 4Runner owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Transmission Nightmare

Discussion in '4th Gen 4Runners (2003-2009)' started by IamGroot, Jan 30, 2021.

1. Jan 30, 2021 at 10:33 AM
    IamGroot

IamGroot [OP] New Member

Member:
    Vehicle:
    2007 gray 4runner 4.0L V6
    Hello! And thank you in advance for taking time to read my post, this is my first!

7 months ago I bought a 2007 2wd V6 4Runner with 196,000 miles on it for $7900. Im no mechanic, but I looked over the entire vehicle and did not spot anything concerning, no signs of leaks or built up gunk anywhere, cosmetically its pretty nice for being 13 years old, only issue was Tire Pressure light was on, the used car dealer told me they can be sensitive and if even off the slightest the light will show, in 3 other cars Ive had that's always been an issue so I didn't think it a large concern. The car was listed AsIs but they also gave me a 3 month/3000 mile warranty so I felt like I jad a good deal.

I drive about 700-800 miles a week on average for work. So about 5 months later i start feeling the steering wheel jolt when braking, I felt a vibration when driving and the steering feels loose so I take it to a Firestone amd they tell me my front rotors are warped and inner tie rods need to be replaced and Im looking at $750 bill, this is after 2 months prior I had to replace 2 tension pulleys, alternator and battery for total of $700.
    Then Firestone Mech tells me theres differential oil sprayed over the underside of my vehicle and they cant provide info because they dont do that there.