1. Welcome to 4Runners.com!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all 4Runner discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other 4Runner owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

power steering leak out of a bolt?

Discussion in '3rd Gen 4Runners (1996-2002)' started by Spaghettimuenster, Aug 10, 2021.

1. Aug 10, 2021 at 7:36 PM
    Spaghettimuenster

Spaghettimuenster [OP] New Member

Member:
    Vehicle:
    97 Limited 4Runner
    Hi, I just got a 97 4runner two weeks ago and I am new at this, but I'm having a leak on the passenger side under the power steering reservoir. It seems to be dripping off a bolt and not sure what the bolt is heading into or what its holding together and I'm not sure what is causing the leak (at first). but now its kind spraying all over when I am driving I think. because its getting all over the engine bay now. guessing it is happening when Im turning the wheels. the picture here is where i can see the drip off the bolt. I noticed the (not sure if this is what its called) power steering pressure port gasket? is bent and believe it is supposed to be flat? any info on about this or how to fix this would be very appreciated. thank you. sorry if the picture quality isn't good.

20210810_130536.jpg
    Snapchat-510448441.jpg

2. Aug 10, 2021 at 9:13 PM
    PhantomTweak

PhantomTweak New Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Patrick
    OREGON
    Vehicle:
    1999 4Runner, bone stock
    None. Bone Stock. EXCEPT: Brushguard, tow hitch, both welded to the frame. It's good to have friends and a fully equipped garage!
    ScreenHunter_2991 Aug. 10 20.38.jpg

The above picture is from the Factory Service Manual, or FSM.