1. Welcome to 4Runners.com!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all 4Runner discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other 4Runner owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Help! Spark plugs damaged but hold torque!

Discussion in '2nd Gen 4Runners (1990-1995)' started by Clueless17, Jun 17, 2023.

1. Jun 17, 2023 at 7:29 PM
    Clueless17

Clueless17 [OP] New Member

Member:
    What's goin on everyone I'm brand new to the 4runner life. Just bought a used 93 4runner and decided to do a little tune up. So I'm changing spark plug number 6 and it gets tighter as I'm unscrewing it. In a fit of stupidity and lack of better judgment, I grabbed my breaker bar, slapped a cheater pipe on that bad boy and just obliterated that spark plug. I snapped it half with all the porcelain out and just the threads remaining in the head. I drilled out the crush washer so I was left with just the threads. I grabbed my M14 tap and drilled into the sparkplug threads and head threads the closest I had to the corresponding size which was 13mm. (M14 tap calls for 12.8mm I believe) I tapped it and now as I'm putting in the plug to see if it fits, I can tell the threads are damaged and maybe a little shallow because I didn't use the exact required size drill bit, but it holds torque! (Approx. 18-21 ft lbs). My question is, how screwed am I? Is it okay as long as it holds torque?should I just helicoil or timesert it?

The truck has 250k miles on it so I'm not too worried about longevity. Thanks for your insight

2. Jun 18, 2023 at 3:02 AM
    AuSeeker

AuSeeker Old As Dirt

Member:
    First Name:
    Skip
    South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    2004 Limited