1. Welcome to 4Runners.com!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all 4Runner discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other 4Runner owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Can anyone in TX give a lecture on how to outfit a 4 wheel drive vehicle for field work?

Discussion in 'Texas' started by Geary, Sep 13, 2024 at 8:24 AM.

1. Sep 13, 2024 at 8:24 AM
    Geary

Geary [OP] New Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Geary
    Vehicle:
    Toyota Tacoma
    Additional Leaf Spring
    Hello to the 4Runner Community, I'm a retired geologist in San Antonio, Texas and done a fair amount of 4 wheeling and remote work as part of my job. I'm the co-chair a large event/workshop for college students studying geology, hydrology, and environmental science coming up in a few weeks. The focus of the workshop is to expose the students to field data collection methods - rock identification, water and soil collection methods, stream gaging, etc. Many of these students will graduate and be working in remote locations doing field work and using off road vehicles. Some of them have probably never changed a tire, let alone driven off road.

I'm looking for some folks that would be willing to give a lecture/module on how to outfit a 4 wheel drive vehicle for field work (spare tire, jack, tire iron, field aid kit, water, tow strap, fire extinguisher, air compressor, etc), cover driving safety, how to change a tire, get stuck and unstuck, etc. This might be a good opportunitiy to get your tires rotated by a bunch of college students.